Paris 2017

Paris: Day 3

On the third day, we headed off to Notre-Dame Cathedral. Make sure to arrive early if you want to climb the towers (the view is definitely worth it)! We arrived around 9:30 and there were at least a dozen people already lined up and by 10:00, there was a huge lineup.

 

Now I somehow forgot to take photos from the top of Notre-Dame using my phone (they’re all on my DSLR- so you’ll have to wait for those photos sorry!!). Circle around to the back of the cathedral for a different view of it and for a chance to walk through a garden. Be careful though because there were several “petitioners” in the garden when I was there.

We then went inside Notre-Dame. Notre-Dame is also very beautiful. We arrived when the choir just began singing. It was quite an experience and definitely worth listening to.

 

We went to the Orangerie afterward to view Monet’s paintings. I really enjoyed the museum’s collection of impressionist and other artworks. We went in the early afternoon so it was quite crowded. For the full experience of viewing Monet’s large water lilies paintings, I would suggest going early in the morning. (Once again, I somehow failed to take any photos on my phone).

We went back to our hotel to rest and ate dinner before going to check out the Orsay. Since it was a Thursday, the Orsay was open late that night. Despite arriving later in the day, the museum was still filled with a lot of people. We checked out some pieces on the first floor, which included a special exhibit that featured landscape paintings. TOne of them was Van Gogh’s Starry Night.

IMG_20170601_175658

Musee d’Orsay also has Van Gogh’s self-portrait so make sure to check that out. There are large signs pointing to it so it’s hard to miss. (I forgot to take photos of it on my phone again. Can you see a repeating theme? Hopefully, I’ll have time to edit and upload the photos from my DSLR soon)!

We then headed to the Impressionist Galleries. Despite the late hour, there was still a lot of people there. The impressionist gallery was heaven. I love impressionism (especially Monet’s paintings) so I spent a long time here. There’s also a huge clock that makes for great photos.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

